Candidate Responses GE2017

Did your local candidates reply to our General Election 2017 challenge to break the 1% public sector pay cap, if elected? Find out below.

If you recieve any responses from your candiates please send them to us. If you are a GE2017 candidate who would like to respond, its not too late! Contact us at and we will add your response below.

We also wrote to all party leaders asking them to respond to our five election challenges. You can see who has responded and read their responses here.

Aberdeen North - no responses

Aberdeen South - Callum O'Dwyer (LAB) YES

Airdrie and Shotts - Neil Grey (SNP) YES / Helen McFarlane (LAB) YES

Angus - William Campbell (LAB) YES

Argyll and Bute - no responses

Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock - Carol Mochan (LAB) YES

Banff and Buchan - no responses

Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk - no responses

Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross - Paul Monaghan (SNP) YES / Olivia Bell (LAB) YES

Central Ayrshire - Dr. Philippa Whitford (SNP) YES / Nairn McDonald (LAB) YES

Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill - no responses 

Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East - Stuart McDonald (SNP) YES

Dumfries and Galloway - Daniel Goodare (LAB) YES

Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale - no responses

Dundee East - Lesley Brennan (LAB) Yes

Dundee West - Alan Cowan (LAB) Yes

Dunfermline and West Fife - Cara Hilton (LAB) Yes

East Dunbartonshire - no responses

East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow - no responses

East Lothian - George Kerevan (SNP) YES / Martin Whitfield (LAB) YES

East Renfrewshire - Kirsten Oswald (SNP) YES / Blair McDougall (LAB) YES

Edinburgh East - Tommy Sheppard (SNP) YES / Patsy King (LAB) YES

Edinburgh North and Leith - Lorna Slater (GRN) YES

Edinburgh South - no responses

Edinburgh South West - no responses

Edinburgh West - Toni Giugilano (SNP) YES

Falkirk - Johnny McNally (SNP) YES / Craig Martin (LAB) YES

Glasgow Central - no responses

Glasgow East - David Linden (SNP) YES

Glasgow North - Pam Duncan-Glancy (LAB) YES / Patrick Harvie (GRN) YES

Glasgow North East - no responses

Glasgow North West - Carol Monaghan (SNP) YES / Michael Shanks (LAB) YES

Glasgow South - no responses

Glasgow South West - Chris Stephens (SNP) YES / Matt Kerr (LAB) YES

Glenrothes - Altnay Claik (LAB) YES

Gordon - no responses

Inverclyde - Ronnie Cowan (SNP) YES / Martin McCluskey (LAB) YES

Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey - no responses

Kilmarnock and Loudoun - Laura Dover (LAB) YES

Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath - William Mullin (SNP) YES

Lanark and Hamilton East - Angela Crawley (SNP) YES

Linlithgow and East Falkirk  - Joan Coombes (LAB) YES

Livingston - no responses

Midlothian - no responses

Moray - Jo Kirby (LAB) YES

Motherwell and Wishaw - Marion Fellows (SNP) YES

Na h-Eileanan an Iar - Angus MacNeil (SNP) YES

North Ayrshire and Arran - Patricia Gibson (SNP) YES / Chris Rimicans (LAB) YES

North East Fife - Rosalind Garton (LAB) YES

Ochil and South Perthshire - no responses

Orkney and Shetland - no responses

Paisley and Renfrewshire North - Alison Taylor (LAB) YES

Paisley and Renfrewshire South - Mhairi Black (SNP) YES / Alison Dowling (LAB) YES

Perth and North Perthshire - no responses

Ross, Skye and Lochaber - Ian Blackford (SNP) YES / Peter O'Donnghaile (LAB) YES

Rutherglen and Hamilton West - Margaret Ferrier (SNP) YES 

Stirling - Steven Paterson (SNP) YES

West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine - no responses

West Dunbartonshire - no responses

Share PCS:

Visit PCS social sites: