The Charity Commission

The Charity Commission is constituted as three PCS branches: 

  • Liverpool
  • London
  • Taunton and Newport.

A formally constituted cross branch committee, the Charity Commission PCS Co-ordinating Committee, exists to ensure that branches work together for all PCS members in the Charity Commission.

What does the Charity Commission do?

The Charity Commission for England and Wales is established by law as the regulator and registrar of charities in England and Wales.

It is a non-Ministerial Government Department charged with regulating over 180,000 registered charities in England and Wales, along with many thousands of small charities not required legally to register, but which must still comply with charity law and require advice and support to operate properly.

In 2009-10, the gross annual income of all registered charities was over £52 billion.

The Commission is completely independent of ministerial influence and also independent from the sector it regulates. It has a number of quasi-judicial functions where it uses powers similar to those of the High Court.

The Commission was set up by parliament, to which it reports directly, but its decisions are open to challenge in the High Court and the first-tier tribunal (Charity) (formerly the Charity Tribunal). Its statutory objectives include assessing whether organisations can be registered as charities and applying the law so that charities and charitable resources are protected from fraud and abuse.


We would welcome feedback on issues that you want to know more about, as well as the information that's already here. If you have a comment, get in touch with us.

Updated 2 Feb 2017

Share PCS:

Visit PCS social sites: