How we are run

PCS is a democratic union. As a member you can vote for who represents you and have the opportunity to stand for election yourself.

Members are organised into branches, which are often based around workplaces, the branches are organised within employer groups across the civil service and related areas. 

The general secretary is the most senior elected Full time official, and is elected every five years. His work includes meeting with the Cabinet Office and government, and leading on negotiations on pay, pensions, and terms and conditions, as well as being the public voice of PCS with the media. Members have re-elected our general secretary, Mark Serwotka, every five years since 2000. 

We also elect our assistant general secretary (AGS) every five years. John Moloney is our AGS and he was elected in 2019.

PCS is run by the national executive committee (NEC), which is elected every year following nominations put forward by branches. The NEC is led by the president, the most senior lay official in the union.

Our president is Fran Heathcote. Members first elected Fran as president in 2019. Fran is an employee of the DWP.

The NEC is responsible for carrying out the policies that are decided on at our annual conference and for making decisions on policy between conferences. It is made up of a president, deputy president, three vice presidents and 30 ordinary members. It meets regularly as a whole and also has sub-committees such as the national disputes committee which can authorise industrial action.


Fran Heathcote (DWP)

Deputy president

Martin Cavanagh (DWP)

Vice presidents

Jacqueline Green (HMCTS)

Kevin Mchugh (HMRC)

Zita Holbourne (ACAS)

Ordinary members

Angela Grant (DWP)

Hector Wesley (HMRC)

Robert Eagleton (DWP)

Bridget Corcoran (DWP)

Ian Pope (DWP)

Tracey Hylton (HMRC)

Marianne Owens (HMRC)

Lorna Merry (HMRC)

Hannah David (Historic England)

Sam Hall (DWP)

Sarah Ensor (Independent Office for Police Conduct)

Liz Mcgachey (DWP)

Jimmy Gill (DWP)  

James Cox (Home Office)

Steve Swainston (DWP)

Harvey Crane (HMRC)

Karen Watts (HMCTS)

Paula Brown (Health & Safety Executive)

Felicity Flynn (Parole Board for England & Wales)

Clive Bryant (HMRC)

Ros Hewitt (Ministry of Justice)

Kris Hendry (HMRC)

John Maguire (HMCTS)

Austin Harney (Office of The Public Guardian)  

Paul Williams (Department for Transport)

Rachelle Mcdougall (HMRC)

Mark Baker (Planning Inspectorate)

Steve Thorley (Crown Prosecution Service)

Jas Mcguinness (Centre for Health & Disability Assessments)

Adrian Hedley (Atos It Services)

This section focuses on the PCS Long-Term Strategy Consultation, which closed for submissions in December 2020.

Following the removal of check-off, which was an existential threat, the union was able to recover and achieve a stable financial footing. However, it was clear that the status quo could not continue and so the wide-ranging consultation sought views on the future direction of the union.

The findings of the consultation were reported back to the PCS national executive committee and it was agreed a motion would be put to conference that reflected the responses. The NEC will now carry out the instructions set out in the motion, which includes a commitment to diverting more resources into building, growing and winning – sustaining our financial stability, building our activist base, and growing the membership, to win against employers and the government.

Members, reps and branches were able to comment online and via email. 

Read what they had to say:

As a democratic union PCS is guided by a set of rules which:

  • govern our structures
  • formalise our policy-making processes
  • act as a constitution for the union.

Download and read the PCS rule book.